shareVM- Share insights about using VM's

Simplify the use of virtualization in everyday life

Compressed VM file transfer using DropBox

with 2 comments

I am using DropBox for transferring compressed files including VM’s  between my environment at home, a Mac running Windows XP SP3 in VMware Fusion 2.0.5 and the test machine, a Windows XP SP3 system located in the office lab. Each machines has a DropBox  folder linked to the same account.

Neat product!

I love the simplicity and ease of use. A lot of thought has gone into making the product easy to install, the integration with the host OS (Windows and Mac) is seamless and sets a benchmark for how UI’s for downloadable products should be designed.

Usage model

I compress each file using the Mac’s native file compression and drop into into my DropBox folder. DropBox seems to follow a two-step file transfer process:

  1. It first uploads the file completely from the source DropBox folder to the DropBox folder in the cloud
  2. After the upload is complete, the file is then downloaded from the DropBox folder in the cloud to the destination DropBox folders.

Setup

Speed ratings are from here. I have been able to correlate these speeds with the end-to-end transfer times.

Transfer Type

Speed Rating for my ISP

Observed DropBox Transfer Rate

Upload

120 KB/sec

70 KB/sec

Download

360 KB/sec

210 KB/sec

Near real-time transfer for uncompressed files

DropBox transfers uncompressed files almost instantaneously between the two machines. The files are transferred sequentially and seem to arrive in order. For example,  I transferred a 1.72 GB folder containing 400 photographs and the photos started appearing sequentially 10 – 15 seconds apart.

Compressed files

Compressed files are transferred as a unit, although dedup applies to blocks contained within it. The transfer times are as recorded below:

Original Size

Compressed Size

Upload Time

Download Time

Total Time

4.30 GB

1.6800 GB

6h 40m

2h 12m

8h 52m

2.15 GB

0.6714 GB

2h 27m

0h 48m

3h 15m

1.10 GB

0.2371 GB

0h 56m

0h 18m

1h 14m

Dedup works well with compressed files

DropBox examines the file to be transferred and builds an index of blocks to be transferred. Its de-duplication technology is smart enough to figure out when not to transfer blocks that are duplicates, i.e., have already been transferred before. For example, when I tried to transfer two clones, the first one took a long time to transfer ( a few hours), but the second transfer was very rapid (under five minutes).

Since I am using the free account, I deleted a 2GB VM from my DropBox folder in order to begin my next transfer. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the next VM transfer was very rapid. I suspect this was because the VM that was transferred earlier was still residing in DropBox’s cache even though I had deleted it, so that DropBox discovered common/duplicate blocks and did not upload them from my Mac.

Summary

Nifty tool. Love it. Will use it a lot.

A few feature requests

  • Subfolders: I would like to organize the files by date and category.
  • Timers: I would like to time the uploads and downloads easily.
  • Profile my usage and suggest how long an end-to-end transfer will take
  • Speed up compressed file transfers – improve my effective transfer rate  from ~60% to ~80%- I would like to saturate the available bandwidth for uploads and downloads

Thanks :-)

Written by paule1s

September 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » I had observed in my earlier article that DropBox performs de-duplication in the cloud. This would mean that de-duplication is not […]

  2. Great review. Although the focus of your review was file sharing I don’t use it that way. I store all my project files in the Dropbox folder on my computer. I use DropBox as an “off site” backup for my current projects and it also provides the ability to access all of my work from any computer using DropBox’s web access.

    If anyone would like to try it I have a referral number that will get both you and I an additional 250 MB of storage in addition to the 2 GB that comes with a free account. use this referral link to download your copy of Dropbox. Here is the referral…..

    https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTU2NTQ5MTk

    Thanks

    BobK

    November 27, 2009 at 6:19 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

